Shaurya Chakra

Shaurya Chakra


President’s Secretariat Notification No 30-Pres/67 dated 27 Jan 67.

Conditions of Eligibility

Awarded for gallantry otherwise than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded posthumously.

If a recipient of the Chakra shall again perform such an act of gallantry as would have made him or eligible to receive the Chakra, such further act of gallantry shall be recognized by a Bar to be attached to the riband by which the Chakra is suspended and, for every subsequent act of gallantry, an additional Bar shall be added and such Bar or Bars may also be awarded posthumously. For every such Bar, a replica of the Chakra in miniature shall be added to the riband when worn alone.

Eligible Categories

Officers and men and women of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia, and of any other lawfully constituted Armed Forces. Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.

Civilians of either sex in all walks of life, other than members of Police Forces and of recognized Fire Services.

Monetary allowance: Rs. 3000/- pm and each bar to the decoration Rs. 3000/- pm to all recipients.

Design of the Medal and Riband

Medal Circular in shape and of bronze, one and three-eighth inches in diameter. Along the rim, on the inner side, shall be a pattern of lotus leaves, flowers and buds. The rim of the medal and that of Ashok Chakra, together with its spokes and hub shall be polished and remaining surface toned to constitute dull back ground. On the obverse of the medal shall be embossed a replica of Ashoka Chakra in the centre, surrounded by a lotus wreath. On its reverse shall be embossed the words “SHAURYA CHAKRA” both in Hindi and in English, the two version being separated by two lotus flowers.

Riband Green colour Riband divided into four equal parts by three vertical lines.

Back to Top