Ashoka Chakra

Ashoka Chakra


President’s Secretariat Notification No 30-Pers/67 dated 27 Jan 1967.

Conditions of Eligibility

Awarded for most conspicuous bravery, or some act of daring or pre- eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice otherwise than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded posthumously.

If a recipient of the Chakra Shall again perform such an act of gallantry as would have made him or her eligible to receive the Chakra, such further act of gallantry shall be recognized by a Bar to be attached to the riband by which the Chakra is suspended and, for every subsequent act of gallantry, and additional Bar shall be added and every such Bar, a replica of the chakra in miniature shall be added to the riband when worn alone.

Eligible Categories

Officers, men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces. Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces. Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life, other than members of Police Forces and of recognized Fire Services.

Monetary allowance : Rs 6000/-pm and each bar to the decoration Rs 6000/-pm to all recipients.

Design of the Medal and Riband

Medal Circular in shape, one and three eighth inches in diameter and will be of gold-gilt. On the obverse, it shall have embossed a replica of Ashoka’s Chakra in the centre surrounded by a lotus wreath. On its reverse shall be embossed the words ‘Ashoka Chakra’ both in Hindi and English, the two versions being separated by two lotus flowers.

Riband Green colour Riband divided into two equal segments by an orange vertical line.

Back to Top