Commanding Officer

Commodore Ajay Patney

Commodore Ajay Patney Commodore Ajay Patney, was commissioned into Indian Navy on 30 Nov 1991 and is an alumnus of the Naval College of Engineering, where he passed out with the award of the coveted President’s Gold Medal. He is an M Tech in Microwave and Communication Engineering from IIT Delhi and alumni of Defence Services Staff College, Wellington and Naval War College, Goa. His career profile has been interspersed with a variety of afloat, staff, instructional and diplomatic appointments. His afloat tenures include ALO(NDC) onboard Ranvir, Electrical Officer onboard Dunagiri and Tir. His staff appointments include stints at Tunir as Oic SAM and Oic MMCR, Joint Director and Director at Directorate of Electrical Engineering, and Director at Directorate of Personnel at Naval Headquarters. He has been an instructor at ND School, Kochi and tenanted the prestigious appointment of Assistant Defence Advisor at the High Commission of India, Dhaka, Bangladesh. Prior to assuming command of Valsura he has been Additional General Manager (Planning) at Naval Dockyard, Mumbai.

The officer is married to Mrs Jyoti Patney, a mathematics graduate from Delhi University. The couple has two sons, Rithik and Hriday. The officer loves cycling, reading and is an avid badminton player. He has assumed Command of INS Valsura on 29 Jan 20.







Previous Commanding Officers of INS Valsura

Cmde C Raghuram
Cmde Indrajit Dasgupta
Cmde B Sivakumar VSM
Cmde Sree Kumar Nair
Cmde S Naithani
Cmde S Kale VSM
Cmde A S Sethi VSM
Cmde B R Taneja
Cmde Rakesh Bajaj VSM
Cmde Raman Prabhath VSM
Cmde N N Kumar VSM
Cmde T S Ganeshan NM VSM
Cmde V Balachandran
Cmde P K Vishwanathan VSM
Cmde H S Bajwa
Cmde S Mohapatra
Cmde P Jaitly
Cmde S Shekhar
Cmde J J Baxi VSM
Cmde Navin Chandra
Capt R C Bhalla VSM
Capt NKS Chauhan
Capt P S Lamba
Cmde M R Schunker AVSM
Cmde M K Lele
Capt K R Ramnath
Capt B C Chatterjee
Cdr LEO Lunel
Capt B R Singh
Capt N E Warner
Cdr K R Nair
Cdr J D Modi
Capt K K Sanjana
Cdr DHR Dadabhoy